Skip navigation

the dreaded Valentines Day is upon us once again and it seems that a lot of my friends are single or just not feeling the made up holiday. So I’ve decided to lift all of your spirits by assembling some new mixes that just hit the astral plane interwebs from some of Sacramento’s most talented DJs!  Also they are rad people outside of the DJ booth and I love to see people who I actually enjoy make music mixes I can really be stoked about. Each one of these fine mixes is downloadable so get them onto your ipods, iphones, droids, spaceships or whatever and make them your soundtrack for either the most romantic or depressing day of the year! ha.

CHRIS SUPREME and DAIMS – DIE YOUNG

The first mix is by Blog High Five favorites CHRIS SUPREME AND DAIMS of The Trinity (where the coco at?) and is some serious banger/dance floor magic. I actually put this on high blast when I was doing some cleaning up in my home/studio/base of operations (better known as COBRA) and I found myself moving with the beat more than I was folding t-shirts and organizing music equipment. I especially loved hearing a sample from one of my favorite CLASSIXX tracks mixed in there (hot fire!). Can I also just say that clubs around Sacramento are sleeping on The Trinity when it comes to weekly dance nights. Guest DJ these dudes so I can hear them mix on super loud speakers already!

D.A.M.B. – FEB 2011 MIX

I’m gonna go ahead and say before anything that Shaun Slaughter (D.A.M.B.) is on it like nobody’s business right now.  His D.A.M.B. tracks keep getting more and more fan fare and he DJs more events (in and out of Sacramento) than anyone I have met in the DJ circles I’ve been a part of.  In between doing all of these events and putting out the aforementioned tracks he manages to put together some of the most solid and cohesive mixes you can imagine. Often with a theme or general vision they seem to pull you into whatever world he is trying to introduce you to.  As a true producer/dj should he also slips in some remixes of his own tracks done by Expendable Youth and Nick Monaco.

DJ ERIN BEST

If you didn’t read my last blog on Sacramento’s monthly CTRL.ALT.DEFEAT. dance night than you should use your God internet given ability to see previous posts right now. Erin Best decided to up the stakes this month and release not just 1 but 2 new mixes! Something about the “Positive and Negative Space” mix gets me more excited than a mix usually would, I’m thinking because it doesn’t always play on the need for dancey tempos or intense build ups and rather has some of the most tasteful selections and styles I can think of in a current mix. The second mix “We Like it Deep” lives up to it’s name with some bassy goodness that had my studio monitors shaking properly.

So hopefully these will get you through the trenches of cupid’s ongoing war of the heart. LOVE YOU ALL (sending you all a ring from Jareds …promise)

One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by charleafrosheen, anthony hernandez, Christopher Botta, Christopher Botta, Janessa S. Garcia and others. Janessa S. Garcia said: Eff chocolates we want music!: http://t.co/sTbs72f <= shout out to "The Trinity" on this blog! […]

Leave a comment