Skip navigation

Now that we’ve all had a moment to collect ourselves after so many amazing shows in January it’s time to hit the dance floor hard once again! What better event to do that with than Press Club’s monthly dance night CTRL.ALT.DEFEAT. ! Resident DJ’s ALX-T and ERIN BEST launched the event several months ago and it has quickly become one of the best dance nights in Sacramento. In a town that has gravitated towards the heavy bass slumping Dubstep and the melody focused Indie Dance genres it at first seemed strange that a House minded night would even be thought of for the next “must go to” event. Maybe that’s why this night works so well. Attending the launch a few months back I didn’t know exactly how “house” or “trance” the night would be but was really excited when both DJ’s played track after track of great music, much of which I’d never heard played at any local dance night (a rarity when you have the number of great DJs in a single town like we’re lucky enough to have here).

click for info and RSVP

So I hit Erin Best with some questions about her jump into the Sacramento Dance night mix and even got some insight from Alex T about the place of house music in our music scene.

MICHAEL CALERO (B^5): I was at the launch of your night and thought that it was a really welcomed reprieve from indie dance and dubstep (great music don’t get me wrong). Why stick with traditional House and Dance music rather than going for what could be considered “trendy/popular” to the current dance scene?

ERIN BEST: House music is ultimately what made me want to DJ. Compiling/listening to indie dance was in itself, the hobby for me. It never drew a desire to DO something with it. When I started listening to House, a whole new level of enjoyment and appreciation occurred and it spawned (this sounds cheesy) a new feeling OF music for me. I’ve never “felt” music like I feel House. That, in turn, made me want to play everything I was feeling for other people in hopes that they would feel the same way about it that I do. Indie dance and electro are losing steam in the underground scene and their elements are starting to rise in popular music. I feel like it is a good time for the comeback of the true original underground dance scene.

ALEX T: There’s so much great dance music not being played in Sacramento, it’s a crime not to showcase it on proper soundsystems.

(B^5): You guys are one of the few resident DJs using CDJ tables only instead of the more user friendly computer software programs that often go with it. Is it a point of pride or a choice of comfort for you two?
ERIN BEST: When I wanted to learn how to DJ, it wasn’t really ever a question of what hardware I would learn on. The majority of House DJs that I’ve been around use CDJs. Naturally, that’s what Alex has and what he taught me on. Now that I use them and know about the other forms of hardware and software, there isn’t really any question about what I would choose to learn on, given the choice. Probably the only hardware that reigns supreme is vinyl and turntables. I see CDJs as the more easily accessible and economical way of achieving the purpose of turntables. At this point, it is definitely a point of pride. It is about knowing how to actually mix two songs together to make them sound like one; based off of sound alone and matching beats with your ears, not with a BPM matcher in a computer program. To me, that lacks the fundamental aspects of being a DJ.

(B^5): Top 5 DJ names you’ve been suggested or thought of going by?
ERIN BEST: Man, I never really wanted a DJ name to begin with but initially tried to come up with one. Suggestions have included:
– DJ Best (no)
– DJ DinoCex (no)
– DJ HoFaSho (no)
… and I lost track after that. I’ve had ever intention of just going by Erin, but Soundcloud tried to coin me DJ Erin. Lately the suggestion has been to just go by my name, Erin Best, and I think that’s probably the best suggestion thus far!

(B^5): The dance floor is losing steam, you have one song to bring it back to life…. what song do you hit the crowd with?

ERIN BEST: Man, this is hard for me because I haven’t had that “dance floor in desperation” moment yet… but honestly, the list is endless. Probably anything with a heavy driving beat and a strong female vocal sample. I’ve got a thing songs like that.

(B^5): This is the 3rd monthly installment of CTRL.ALT.DEFEAT. what are you hoping to do with the night going forward?
ERIN BEST: We’ve honestly never really sat down and set goals for the night. We have loosely discussed possible guests, but that’s about it. The only goal we’ve had is to go out and have fun every month. So far we’re doing okay on that end so until we stop having fun, things will most likely stay pretty consistent. But we’re open to suggestions!

My suggestion…. more giant dinosaurs. but that’s my suggestion for just about everything.  So make sure to hit up Press Club this Thursday to get your House music fix and apparently it’s Erin’s unofficial  birthday party so make sure to pinch her mid set. She loves that kind of stuff.

One Comment

  1. Word.


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] out: BlogHighFive for recent story on the […]

Leave a comment